The Milwaukee Brewers are an American professional baseball team based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The Brewers contend in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a part club of the National League (NL) Centraldivision. The group is named for the city’s relationship with the brewing industry. Since 2001, the Brewers have played their home diversions at Miller Park, which has a seating limit of 41,900.

The group was established in 1969 as the Seattle Pilots, an expansion team of the American League (AL), in Seattle, Washington. The Pilots played their home diversions at Sick’s Stadium. After just a single season, the team relocated to Milwaukee, getting to be known as the Brewers and playing their home recreations at Milwaukee County Stadium. In 1998, the Brewers joined the National League. They are the main establishment to play in four divisions since the appearance of divisional play in Major League Baseball in 1969. They are additionally one of two MLB establishments to switch associations in their history, alongside the Houston Astros.


The group’s only World Series appearance came in 1982. Subsequent to winning the ALCS against the California Angels, the Brewers faced off against the St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series, losing 4– 3. In 2011, the Brewers won the NLDS versus the Arizona Diamondbacks 3– 2, yet lost in the NLCS to the eventual World Series-champion Cardinals, 4– 2.


History of the Milwaukee Brewers

Beginning as an expansion team in 1969, in Seattle, Washington, as the Seattle Pilots, the club played for one season in the American League West Division before being obtained in chapter 11 court by Bud Selig, who at that point moved the group to Milwaukee. They would keep on playing in the West Division for two more years. Before the start of the 1972 season the Brewers consented to change over to the American League East to account for the Texas Rangers who had moved from Washington.

Starting in 1994, because of divisional re-arrangement, the Brewers moved to the recently made American League Central division. Taking all things together, the Brewers were a piece of the American League from their creation in 1969 through the 1997 season, after which they moved to the National League Central Division. Milwaukee had beforehand been a National League city when its group was the Milwaukee Braves (1953– 1965).

In 1981, Milwaukee won the American League East Division in the second 50% of the strike-abbreviated season. In the playoffs, they lost the divisional arrangement to the New York Yankees, three diversions to two.


In 1982, Milwaukee won the American League East Division and the American League Pennant, gaining their only World Series appearance to date as the Brewers. In the Series, they lost to the St. Louis Cardinals four amusements to three.

In 1998, the Brewers changed associations, going from the American League to the National League.

In 2008, without precedent for the 26 years since their World Series appearance, the Brewers progressed to postseason play by winning the National League trump card. They were wiped out in the National League Division Series by the eventual World Series champion Philadelphia Phillies.

On September 23, 2011, the Milwaukee Brewers secured their first division title in 29 years. They won the National League Division Series in five amusements over the Arizona Diamondbacks, however lost the National League Championship Series to the eventual World Series champion St. Louis Cardinals in six recreations.