Jammu and kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir is a state in northern India, frequently signified by its acronym, J&K. It is found generally in the Himalayan mountains, and offers outskirts with the conditions of Himachal Pradesh and Punjab toward the south. The Line of Control isolates it from the Pakistani-controlled domains of Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan in the west and north individually, and a Line of Actual Control isolates it from the Chinese-regulated region of Aksai Chin in the east. The state has unique self-governance under Article 370 of the Constitution of India.

A piece of the previous Princely State of Kashmir and Jammu, the locale is the subject of a regional clash among China, India and Pakistan. The western areas of the previous regal state known as Azad Kashmir and the northern regions known as Gilgit-Baltistan have been under Pakistani control since 1947. The Aksai Chin district in the east, flanking Tibet, has been under Chinese control since 1962.

Jammu and Kashmir comprise of three districts: Jammu, the Kashmir Valley and Ladakh. Srinagar is the mid year capital, and Jammu is the winter capital. Jammu and Kashmir is the main state in India with a Muslim-larger part populace. The Kashmir valley is celebrated for its lovely bumpy scene, and Jammu’s various sanctums pull in a huge number of Hindu explorers consistently, while Ladakh is eminent for its remote mountain magnificence and Buddhist culture.

Regulatory divisions

Jammu and Kashmir comprises of three divisions: Jammu, Kashmir Valley and Ladakh, and is additionally partitioned into 22 locale. The Siachen Glacier, albeit under Indian military control, does not lie under the organization of the province of Jammu and Kashmir. Kishtwar, Ramban, Reasi, Samba, Bandipora, Ganderbal, Kulgam and Shopian are recently shaped locale, and their regions are incorporated with those of the regions from which they were framed.



Central command

Territory (km²)


2001 Census


2011 Census

Jammu Kathua District Kathua 2,651 550,084 615,711

Jammu District Jammu 3,097 1,343,756 1,526,406

Samba District Samba 904 245,016 318,611

Udhampur District Udhampur 4,550 475,068 555,357

Reasi District Reasi 1,719 268,441 314,714

Rajouri District Rajouri 2,630 483,284 619,266

Poonch District Poonch 1,674 372,613 476,820

Doda District Doda 11,691 320,256 409,576

Ramban District Ramban 1,329 180,830 283,313

Kishtwar District Kishtwar 1,644 190,843 231,037

Add up to for division Jammu 26,293 4,430,191 5,350,811

Kashmir Valley Anantnag District Anantnag 3,984 734,549 1,069,749

Kulgam District Kulgam 1,067 437,885 423,181

Pulwama District Pulwama 1,398 441,275 570,060

Shopian District Shopian 612.87 211,332 265,960

Budgam District Budgam 1,371 629,309 755,331

Srinagar District Srinagar 2,228 990,548 1,250,173

Ganderbal District Ganderbal 259 211,899 297,003

Bandipora District Bandipora 398 316,436 385,099

Baramulla District Baramulla 4,588 853,344 1,015,503

Kupwara District Kupwara 2,379 650,393 875,564

Add up to for division Srinagar 15,948 5,476,970 6,907,622

Ladakh Kargil District Kargil 14,036 119,307 143,388

Leh District Leh 45,110 117,232 147,104

Add up to for division Leh 59,146 236,539 290,492

Add up to 101,387 10,143,700 12,548,925

Significant urban communities

City organizations: 2 – Srinagar, Jammu

Civil chambers: 6 – Udhampur, Kathua, Poonch, Anantnag, Baramulla, Sopore

Civil sheets: 21 – Samba, Ranbirsinghpora, Akhnoor, Reasi, Ramban, Doda, Bhaderwah, Kishtwar, Kargil, Dooru-Verinag, Bijbehara, Pulwama, Tral, Badgam, Kulgam, Shopian, Ganderbal, Pattan, Sumbal, Kupwara, Handwara

Populace of ten noteworthy urban communities:




2011 Census

State Region

Jammu 1 1,529,958 Jammu

Srinagar 2 1,236,829 Kashmir

Anantnag 3 1,078,692 Kashmir

Baramulla 4 1,008,039 Kashmir

Udhampur 5 554,985 Jammu

Rajouri 6 642,415 Jammu

Kathua 7 616,435 Jammu

Sopore 8 – Kashmir

Poonch 9 – Jammu

Bandipora 10 – Kashmir