River Ravi

The Raavi (Punjabi is a transboundary river crossing northwestern India and eastern Pakistan. It is one of six streams of the Indus System in Punjab region (Punjab signifies “Five Rivers”). The waters of Raavi are designated to India under Indus Water Treaty.

River Ravi
River Ravi

Under the Indus Waters Treaty of 1960, the waters of the Raavi and five different streams are separated among India and Pakistan. In this way, the Indus Basin Project has been created in Pakistan and many between bowl water transfers, irrigation, hydropower and multipurpose undertakings have been assembled in India.


As per old history followed to Vedas, the Raavi River was referred to as Iravati (also spelt Eeraveti; Sanskrit:  The Raavi was known as Parushani or Iravati to Indians in Vedic occasions and as Hydraotes  to the Ancient Greeks.

Part of the clash of the ten kings was battled on a River, which concurring to Yaska (Nirukta 9.26) alludes to the Iravati River (Raavi River) in the Punjab.


The Raavi River, a transboundary waterway of India and Pakistan, is a fundamental piece of the Indus River Basin and structures the headwaters of the Indus bowl. The waters of the Raavi River deplete into the Arabian Sea (Indian Ocean) through the Indus River in Pakistan.

River Ravi
River Ravi

The waterway ascends in the Bara Bhangal, District Kangra in Himachal Pradesh, India. The waterway depletes an absolute catchment region of 14,442 square kilometers (5,576 sq mi) in India subsequent to streaming for a length of 720 kilometers (450 mi). Streaming westbound, it is stitched by the Pir Panjal and Dhauladhar ranges, shaping a triangular zone.

Interstate water question

Indeed, even preceding the partition of India in August 1947, India had created activities on the waterway Raavi and Beas River framework. At the point when the bargain was under discussion, India had made development move to build up the three streams, which were in the long run designated to it under the arrangement.

As indicated by a mandate of the Government of India, getting ready for improvement of the Raavi and Beas streams was started simultaneously with the arrangement exchanges, which included four riparian states of Punjab, PEPSU (this was converged with Punjab and hence Punjab was partitioned, and also the Haryana state was made), Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) inside the ambit of the as of now developed Bhakra Nangal Dam project on the Sutlej River.

A survey of the streams in the two waterway frameworks uncovered that before parcel of the nation and up to the season of the marking of the Indus Treaty, 3.86 cubic kilometers (3,130,000 acre⋅ft) of water was utilized by real water system frameworks, for example, the Upper Bari Doab Canal System (1959) and the Lower Bari Doab Canal System (1915).

The unused stream in the two waterway frameworks was evaluated at 19.22 cubic kilometers (15,580,000 acre⋅ft), which was intended to be created by the four conditions of J&K, PEPSU, Punjab and Rajasthan. Nonetheless, with the merger of PEPSU with Punjab and resulting bifurcation of Punjab into two expresses, a debate emerged on the portion of Raavi and Beas waters for which a tribunal was set up under the Interstate River Water Disputes Act.