South Carolina football

The South Carolina Gamecocks football program speaks to the University of South Carolina in the game of American football. The Gamecocks contend in the Football Bowl Subdivision of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the Eastern Division of the Southeastern Conference. Will Muschamp currently fills in as the group’s head mentor. They play their home recreations at Williams-Brice Stadium. As of now, it is the 20th biggest stadium in school football.

USC’s SEC residency has been featured by a SEC East title in 2010, Final Top-25 rankings in 2000, 2001, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 (AP No. 19, No. 13, No. 22, No. 9, No. 8 and No. 4), and four wins over Top-5 SEC adversaries, (No. 4 Ole Miss in 2009, No. 1 Alabama in 2010, No. 5 Georgia in 2012 and at No. 5 Missouri in 2013).

From 1953 through 1970, the Gamecocks played in the Atlantic Coast Conference, winning the 1969 ACC championship and completing No. 15 in the 1958 last AP survey. From 1971 through 1991, they contended as a noteworthy free, delivering 1980 Heisman Trophy winner George Rogers, six bowl appearances, and Final Top-25 rankings in 1984 and 1987 (AP No. 11 and No. 15).

The Gamecocks have created a National Coach of the Year in Joe Morrison, three SEC mentors of the year in Lou Holtz (2000) and Steve Spurrier (2005, 2010), and one ACC mentor of the year in Paul Dietzel (1969). They additionally have four individuals from the College Football Hall of Fame in previous players George Rogers and Sterling Sharpe, and previous coaches Lou Holtz and Steve Spurrier.

Remarkable seasons

1933 Undefeated in the Southern Conference

In 1933, under the bearing of the legendary Billy Laval, the Gamecocks went undefeated in meeting play. Be that as it may, Duke would complete with a superior meeting record by one win and was granted the title.

1969 ACC champions

In 1969, the Gamecocks won the ACC Championship by going undefeated in meeting play. In its six ACC matchups, USC outscored its adversaries by a 130– 61 edge. The squad posted a 7– 4 by and large record with a Peach Bowl appearance against West Virginia to close the season (14– 3 misfortune). After two years, South Carolina departed the ACC and contended as an Independent for two decades previously joining the SEC in 1992.

1984 – “Dark Magic”

Driven by Coach Morrison, the 1984 Gamecocks turned into the main group in school history to win 10 recreations (10– 2 record) and were positioned as high as No. 2 in the surveys.. The Gamecocks completed No. 11 in the Final AP Poll. En route, they vanquished Georgia, Pittsburgh, Notre Dame, Florida State, and Clemson to win an appearance in the Gator Bowl against Oklahoma State (21– 14 misfortune). At the time, the No. 11 last positioning was the most astounding at any point accomplished by South Carolina.

2010 SEC East heroes

In 2010, the Gamecocks won their first SEC Eastern Division Championship, going 5– 3 in gathering play.[124] For the first run through in school history, they crushed the No. 1 positioned group in the nation (Alabama) and won at Florida in the division-securing game.[ The season additionally included triumphs over division enemies Georgia, Tennessee, and Vanderbilt and additionally instate Atlantic Coast Conference match Clemson. In their first appearance in the SEC Championship Game, the Gamecocks lost to No. 1 Auburn, 56– 17.

2011 – “Initial 11-Win Season”

Driven by Coach Spurrier, the 2011 Gamecocks accomplished its most wins in a solitary season and completed in the Top 10 without precedent for program history. USC posted a 11– 2 in general record, went 6– 2 in SEC play, and won the Capital One Bowl to complete No. 9/8 in the Final AP and Coaches’ Polls (individually). En route, USC crushed Georgia, Tennessee, Florida, and Clemson to broaden its triumphant streak over its greatest opponents to 3 amusements. This was likewise the main season that USC posted a 5– 0 record against their SEC Eastern Division rivals.

2012 – “Consecutive” 11-Win Seasons

Again driven by Coach Spurrier, the 2012– 13 Gamecocks squad went 11– 2, with their solitary misfortunes coming at LSU and at Florida in back to back weeks. USC completed 2012 by overcoming rival Clemson 27– 17, in Death Valley, to end the general season. They were welcome to play in the Outback Bowl, with the Gamecocks overcoming the Michigan Wolverines, 33– 28, in a nearby amusement chosen by a 28-yard touchdown go from Dylan Thompson to Bruce Ellington with under a moment to go. The Gamecocks completed the season positioned No. 8/7 in the Final AP and Coaches’ Polls (individually)

2013 – “Three sequential” 11-Win Seasons

Mentor Spurrier worked his enchantment by and by amid the 2013– 14 season by driving the Gamecocks to their third continuous eleven-win season, their two misfortunes coming on account of Georgia in Athens and Tennessee in Knoxville. Before the finish of the 2013 crusade, Carolina held the longest home winning streak in the country at 18. The 2013 customary season finished with a fifth continuous triumph over instate equal Clemson, in Williams-Brice Stadium, and a challenge to play in the Capital One Bowl in Orlando versus the Wisconsin Badgers.

Connor Shaw drove the Gamecocks to a 34– 24 triumph and was named the MVP of the bowl. Carolina turned out to be just the twelfth program in NCAA D1 history to record three continuous 11-win seasons, (Miami (FL), Nebraska, Florida State, Alabama, Southern California, LSU, Oklahoma, Boise State, Oregon, Stanford, Northern Illinois), and completed the season positioned No. 4 in both the AP and Coaches’ Polls, the most noteworthy last positioning in program history.

Honor champs

Heisman Trophy

George Rogers –  1980

Chic Harley Award

George Rogers – 1980

Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award

Joe Morrison –  1984

Southern Conference Player of the Year

Steve Wadiak –  1950

Atlantic Coast Conference Coach of the Year

Paul Dietzel –  1969

Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year

Alex Hawkins –  1958

Billy Gambrell –  1962

Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year

Lou Holtz –  2000

Steve Spurrier –  2005, 2010

Walter Camp Alumni of the Year

George Rogers – 2004

Disney Spirit Award

Tim Frisby –  2004

Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Year

Steve Taneyhill –  1992

Marcus Lattimore –  2010

Jadeveon Clowney –  2011

Ted Hendricks Award

Jadeveon Clowney –  2012

AT&T ESPN All-America Player of the Year

Jadeveon Clowney –  2012

School Football Hall of Famers

Inductee Position Class Year(s)

George Rogers RB 1997 1977– 1980

Lou Holtz Head coach 2008 1999– 2004

Sterling Sharpe WR 2014 1983– 1987

Steve Spurrier Head coach 2017 2005– 2015