A MTV Video Music Award (regularly shortened as a VMA) is a honor displayed by the link channel MTV to respect the best in the music video medium. Initially imagined as an other option to the Grammy Awards (in the video class), the yearly MTV Video Music Awards function has regularly been known as the “Super Bowl for youth”, an affirmation of the VMA service’s capacity to draw a great many youth from youngsters to twenty-year-olds every year. By 2001, the VMA had turned into a pined for grant. The statue given to champs is a space traveler on the moon, one of the soonest portrayals of MTV, and was casually called a “moonman”.

MTV logo

Be that as it may, in 2017 Chris McCarthy, the President of MTV, expressed that the statue would be known as a “Moon Person” from that point on. The statue was brought about by Manhattan Design—likewise planners of the first MTV logo—in view of the 1981 “Best of the Hour” activity made by Fred Seibert, created by Alan Goodman, and delivered by Buzz Potamkin at Buzzco Associates. The statue is currently made by New York firm, Society Awards. Since the 2006 function, watchers can vote in favor of their most loved recordings in every single general classification by visiting MTV’s site.

The yearly VMA service happens before the finish of summer and held either in late August or mid-September, and communicate live on MTV, alongside simulcasts on MTV’s sister systems to invalidate in-house rivalry. The principal VMA function was held in 1984 at New York City’s Radio City Music Hall. The services are ordinarily held in either New York City or Los Angeles. In any case, the functions have additionally been facilitated in Miami and Las Vegas

Honor classes

Current honor classes

•Video of the Year

•Artist of the Year

•Song of the Year

•Best New Artist (granted as Best New Artist in a Video from 1984 to 2006, Artist to Watch from 2013 to 2015)

•Push Artist of the Year

•Best Pop Video

•Best Rock Video

•Best Hip-Hop Video

•Best Dance Video (granted as Best Dancing in a Video in 2008, Best Dance Music Video in 2010, Best Electronic Dance Music Video in 2012, MTV Clubland Award in 2014, and Best Electronic Video in 2016)

•Best Latino Video (granted as 2010 to 2013, 2018, grant given as craftsman 2010, 2012 to 2013, grant given as video 2011, 2018)

•Best Collaboration (granted as Most Earthshattering Collaboration in 2007)

•Best Video with a Social Message (granted as Best Video with a Message from 2011 to 2012, Best Video with a Social Message from 2013 to 2015 and Best Fight Against the System in 2017)

•Best Direction

•Best Choreography

•Best Visual Effects (granted as Best Special Effects from 1984 to 2011)

•Best Art Direction

•Best Editing

•Best Cinematography

•Song of Summer

•Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award (lifetime accomplishment grant)

Past honor classes

•Special Recognition Award (1984-1986)

•Best Overall Performance in a Video (1984– 1987)

•Most Experimental Video (1984– 1987; supplanted by Breakthrough Video)

•Best Concept Video (1984– 1988)

•Best Stage Performance in a Video (1984– 1989)

•Best Post-Modern Video (1989– 1990; supplanted by Best Alternative Video)

•Best Alternative Video (1991– 1998)

•Best Artist Website (1999)

•Best Video from a Film (1987– 2003)

•International Viewer’s Choice (1989– 2003; grants for singular districts were made and disposed of in various years)

•Best R&B Video (1993– 2006)

•Best Rap Video (1989– 2006)

•MTV2 Award (2001– 2006)

•Viewer’s Choice (1984– 2006)

•Best Video Game Soundtrack (2004– 2006)

•Best Video Game Score (2006)

•Ringtone of the Year (2006)

•Best Group Video (1984– 2007; granted as Best Group in 2007)

•Quadruple Threat of the Year (2007)

•Monster Single of the Year (2007)

•Best UK Video (2008)

•Best Video (That Should Have Won a Moonman) (2009)

•Breakthrough Video (1988– 2005, 2009– 2010)

•Most Share-Worthy Video (2012)

•Best Latino Artist (2010– 2013)

•Best Lyric Video (2014)

•Breakthrough Long Form Video (granted as Best Long Form Video in 1991) (1991, 2016)

•Best Male Video (1984– 2016; supplanted by Artist of the Year)

•Best Female Video (1984– 2016; supplanted by Artist of the Year)